Living in the Light

Faith, as Luther said somewhere, is like the eye. It does not create what it sees; it sees what is there. Faith is discovery. It is the joyful acceptance of what is already true.

What I see…what I have sensed to be true all my life…is the Divine Love which embraces all of us, relates to each of us, and has been and will always be.

Love, by definition, is relational. Consequently, for me, the concept of a multi-faceted, relational God – what Christians call the Holy Trinity – rings true. The trio is all life and all joy and wants us to live in total awareness of this truth and participate in the great dance of life, abandoning ourselves to the peace and joy that result from loving.

Christ offered himself up as the bridge between our brokenness and the joyful abandon of Divine Love. He is relentless in the pursuit of each of us, illuminating the Way to Love.

The Way isn’t about getting into Paradise or staying out of Hell. It’s about becoming aware of the transforming relationship the Divine wants with each of us…the boundless joy in the here and now wrought by loving God, our fellow humans and ourselves.

Humans perpetually seek to transform this uniquely personal relationship with the Creator into a doctrinal value system based on principles and legislation that stray from the basic command of the Son to love God and to love one another. Legalism leads to comparisons and judgment. It’s what drives a “Christian” to stand on a street corner pointing a “God Hates (fill in the blank)” placard at another person. It’s what leads a “Christian” to blame the poor for their poverty. It’s what causes each of us to look in the mirror, find ourselves lacking, then treat another like less so that we can feel like more.

As a follower of the Way, I have chosen the life of the Spirit – that aspect of God that flows through us like living water. Paul was right when he said that we need to make sure that “we do not just hold it as an idea in our heads or a sentiment in our hearts, but work out its implications in every detail of our lives. That means that we will not compare ourselves with each other as if one of us were better and another worse. We have far more interesting things to do with our lives. Each of us is an original.” (Galatians 5:25-26 MSG)

I am unique. So are you. The infinite energy that is God flows through us and all living things in boundless originality. As a result, each of us – man, woman, black, white, Christian, Muslim, Buddhist, Hindu, atheist, et al — has something distinct to offer the Creation.

I think of the Creation as a canvas. Each of us contributes our own brush strokes to it. Each brush stroke is integral to the whole.  Each stroke illuminates light or dark. The Way shows us how Love paints a canvas filled with light. We each get to decide if our brush strokes contribute to the light or to the dark in the Creation.

Which do you choose?

I choose to live in the Light. I do not dwell in the Darkness of my memories nor do I linger long in the sad, ebony episodes that surround me in the world. I keep the Son in my eyes and do my utmost to understand and follow the Way He has so graciously lit.

And for all the love that flows my way, and in the face of all that does not, I choose to try with all that I am to give more than I get, to bestow it without thought to who deserves it, but to give it as freely as the Father, Son and Spirit have given it to me. Such is the Way as taught by the Son.

This Easter Sunday, and always, I choose to dance in the Light of Love.
image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

