Mothering in Paris

I first came to Paris in my imagination as a young girl studying French in high school. I held no real expectation of ever really getting here. But decades later, I married a man who has a penchant for making dreams come true. He introduced me to his favorite city with a stay in Montmartre. My second trip was last year when we played host to family and friends during an extended stay. I captured much of that trip on this blog. (Read away, please!)

This, my third trip to Paris, is as a mother. I come to deposit my youngest child at the University of Versailles, leaving her to study language and art to her heart’s desire while I ponder my memories of the child who is now this remarkable young woman forging her own path in a world that is simultaneously larger and smaller than the one I knew when I was her age.
image

Yesterday, we accomplished the most important task to one of her generation — we successfully “Frenchified” her iPhone. Armed with an iPhone 5 that now works here…Megan is ready to take on life as an American studying in France.

Today, we met up with Megan’s friend and fellow exchange student. David, to find our way to the University of Versailles St. Quentin en Yvelines.
image

On the train to St. Quentin en Yvelines, we met a young man who is studying at the Sorbonne, but lives in St. Quentin en Yvelines. He kindly showed us to the University which was an easy walk from the train station.
image

Megan attends an orientation tomorrow and obtains the key to her apartment on Thursday. She’s on her way.

Meanwhile, I sat at the kitchen table this morning, listening to the sounds of children playing on the playground at the Catholic school next door. I recalled when Megan was a child and each new experience from jumping in the pool to riding a bike brought a “Watch me, Mommy!”

If I close my eyes and listen really hard I can hear the echo of that little girl. Only now she speaks French.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mothering in Paris

  1. Gerry Crosson says:

    How sweet Donna!!!! It’s awesome that you got to go there with her for this great life time experience…..

Leave a Reply

